Traditionally, as in all Indian sciences and arts, yoga is passed on from a teacher to student. The teacher can be seen as a guide who accompanies the learner on the path with the help of his or her knowledge, experience and love. Our team of lecturers welcomes you to learn and share with us.

  • The classic-scientific school of the Kaivalyadhama Institute in Lonavla, India"
  • The refined and life-affirming philosophy and methodology of Kashmiri Tantra

Furthermore, guest speakers offer precious insights into other yoga styles: TriYoga Flow, Astanga Yoga, Meridian Yoga, ViniYoga, Buddhist meditation and more.

(Tri-Yoga-Flow, Astanga-Yoga, Meridian Yoga, Vini Yoga, Buddhist meditation etc.)

It is important for IYP to offer you a "yogic home" based on the classical yoga texts and well- founded knowledge which supports you on your way to self-responsibility, mindfulness and joy of life.

Methods / Techniques

The popularity of yoga is based on the effectiveness of its principally holistic methods. Body, breath, intellect, emotions and even nutrition and general lifestyle are accounted for by distinct categories of exercises. All aspects of being human are considered when a yoga practise is systematically designed. This leads to the integration of all talents and opportunities that life has to offer.

Following the methods of Patanjali's classic yoga path and the Hatha Yoga tradition will help you to accept the call to physical well-being, mental balance and mindfulness.

Yamas / Niyamas

"Inner values which function as guide lines for Yoga practise and daily life"

The Yamas and Niyamas are the basis and the 1st and 2nd link of Patanjali's eight-fold Yoga path. These ten guide lines for yoga practise and daily life focus on the inner attitude which underlies everything we are thinking and doing. They shouldn't be interpreted as moral dos and don'ts but as qualities which have to be cultivated to develop more empathy and mindfulness, to be able to create an atmosphere in which the other methods of Yoga can unfold.

Following these guide lines the practitioner sets the stage for a solid character and a stable feeling of self. Filled with inner calm one can then interact self-reliantly with the world.

Free from fear one can let go of the self-imposed limitations and venture to new boundaries.

Yoga Nidra

"Many people believe that they are relaxing when slouching in an armchair with a cup of coffee, a drink and a cigarette, reading the newspaper or switching on the TV. Scientifically this can not be defined as relaxation, but as distraction for the senses. Real relaxation goes way beyond that" -- Swami Satyananda Saraswati

Yoga Nidra is a powerful method of teaching how to relax consciously. Developed by Swami Satyananda Sarasvati, Yoga Nidra dissolves physical, emotional and mental tensions systematically. Lying down, resting the body whilst being wide awake inside and using active visualization help to create a state of deep-physiological calmness. Regenerative mechanisms become activated, which in turn counterbalances stress-related disturbances. The relaxing and refreshing nature of Yoga Nidra can become a source of joy of life, creativity and insight.


When, through practise of the various links of Yoga, the slags are removed the power to shine increases up to distinction"Patanjali 2,28

Different texts of the Haþha-Yoga tradition introduce six methods of cleansing (called Kriyas or Satkriyas). These are:"Dhauti, Basti, Neti, Trataka, Nauli, Kapala Bhati". They comprise distinct techniques for cleansing and vitalizing the entire digestive system and the sense organs, which are partly mechanical and partly body and breathing exercises. Applied in a specific manner, the Satkriyas are of high hygienic and therapeutic value for healing or keeping the body healthy. They cleanse, strengthen and revitalize the body and therefore create an ideal base for emotional stability and clarity.


Classic Yoga postures which help to develop physical stability, body awareness and mindfulness

The term asana is derived from the Sanskrit verb "as" which translates to "to sit, to be positioned, to remain". Meditative sitting positions are called asanas as well as a wide variety of exercises which are all practised with loving empathy free from evaluation or need to achieve. The asana practise becomes alive when strength is applied in a focused way and flexing some muscles always goes hand in hand with relaxing others (dissociation of the muscles). Staying in a posture for a longer time, optimizes the regeneration of the organs, stimulates the nervous system, tones the muscles and gives a taste of the vastness, which characterizes meditation. Just as it is an aim to strengthen the body and keep it healthy, the practise also aims at experiencing intimacy with oneself, recognizing connections with the environment, practicing new behavioral patterns and enhancing awareness.


Techniques which increase mental energy

Normally Mudra is translated as zeal or symbol. Etymologically it is related to the Sanskrit word "mud" which means "being happy", Mudra points towards that which brings happiness and luck. In the context of the Haþha yoga tradition the category of the mudras comprise certain gestures of hands and eyes, tongue positions and complex techniques combining body positions, breathing exercises and concentration exercises. Because of their exponential efficiency, mudras are highly ranked in all classic texts. If practised regularly they help to:

  • Prevent diseases and to treat them
  • Develop inner stability by harmonizing mental energy
  • Activate dormant life energy and to channel it


"Better breathing means better life" B.K.S. Iyengar

Pranayama is a unique method characterizing the way of yoga. For thousands of years the Indians were interested in the phenomenon of breathing, examining the relationship between breathing patterns, the world of emotions and the mind. Based on profound medical knowledge and philosophical thoughts, they developed various breathing exercises which have a positive influence on the health, attitude to life and mental state of practitioners. When these "Pranayamas" are practised the breathing, in most cases, is modified, rhythmified or stopped in so called breathing breaks. They are advanced techniques which should be taught cautiously and in person by an experienced teacher. The goal of Pranayama is to establish an atmosphere of inner focus as a basis for meditation and insight.


"Yoga ist der Zustand, in dem die seelisch-geistigen Vorgänge zur Ruhe kommen. Dann ruht der Sehende in seiner wahren Wesensidentität"

(Patanjali Yogasutren 1.2 / 1,3)

uebersetzung klassische Yoga texte suchen

Samyama subsumes the three inner links of Yoga: Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi which are collectively called meditation in the western world. Dharana and Dhyana stand for the process of increasing focus in which the movements of the mind get focused (bundled) on one single object. As long as concentration shifts back and forth between distraction and object of concentration, it is considered dharana, however, when a steady single-pointed, awake perception is achieved, when the seer and that which is seen draw closer, it is called dhyana. The state in which the seer and that which is seen shake off their self-limiting Individuality and the "I consciousness" of the seer breaks free from its former concept of identity, is called samadhi. In the light-flooded stillness of uninhabited awareness the infinite is unveiled which is called yoga or enlightenment.

Back To Top